Now with CBD Vapor and CBD Skin CreamsContact Us

Marijuana Laws Vary by Jurisdiction


Each state has its own laws pertaining to the penalties and punishments for the possession of drugs and drug paraphernalia. Some states treat the possession or sale of certain drugs as a less serious offense than others substances, while other states enforce harsh penalties on all offenders.

In some states, cities, and counties,  marijuana  possession is treated as a minor crime or even as no offense at all. In California, people can actually get a prescription to legally possess  marijuana  in order to treat a variety of  medical  conditions. And in November 2009, the city of Breckenridge, Colorado, voted to legalize  marijuana  and  marijuana  paraphernalia. However, despite the decriminalization of  marijuana  in these areas, in other places around the nation,  marijuana  possession is still treated as a serious crime.

The state of Wisconsin is one state that takes  marijuana  possession very seriously.  Marijuana  laws in Wisconsin state that:

  • The possession of any amount of  marijuana  as a first offense is a misdemeanor offense punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Even though conditional discharge is available for first time offenders under certain conditions, a second or subsequent possession charge is a felony offense punishable by up to 3.5 years in a federal prison and a fine of $10,000.
  • The possession or sale of paraphernalia is punishable as a misdemeanor charge. Possession of  marijuana  paraphernalia can result in up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine. The sale of paraphernalia can result in 90 days and jail and a $1,000 fine, a penalty which can be increased to nine months in jail and a $10,000 fine if the sale was made to a minor. For multiple possession charges, fines double.
  • In Wisconsin, any possession of  marijuana  with the intent to sell, manufacture, distribute, or deliver will result in a felony charge. Depending on the amount of  marijuana  in possession, penalties can range from 3.5 to 15 years in federal prison, with a $10,000 to $25,000 fine.
  • All convictions also result in a drivers’ license suspension ranging from 6 months to 5 years, and the possession within 1,000 feet of a public park or pool, a school or a school bus, or a youth or community center will add an addition 100 community service hours to the possession sentence.
  • Possession within 1,000 feet of a school, school bus, public park, public pool, youth center or community center adds an additional 100 hours of community service to the sentence for possession.

For more information about  marijuana  laws in Wisconsin or other criminal offenses, visit the website of Appleton criminal defense lawyers Kohler & Hart.


Source by Joseph Devine